Walmart adds photo-to-cart shopping and flashing shelf tags to its AI assistant
Sparky can match lists against purchase history and local stock, then recommend products for unfamiliar items. How those recommendations are ranked remains unclear.
Loading page…
Sparky can match lists against purchase history and local stock, then recommend products for unfamiliar items. How those recommendations are ranked remains unclear.
Listen to this story
Walmart’s October 30, 2026 update gives Sparky six new ways to turn shopping tasks into product choices, from matching handwritten lists and interpreting photos to building meal plans and suggesting recipe substitutions. Shop to Light links an in-app search to an aisle map and a flashing shelf label, bringing the assistant into the physical store. The features could reduce the work between a household need and a purchase, but Walmart has not disclosed Shop to Light’s rollout scope, and chainwide voice access is only planned by the end of 2026.
In Walmart’s demo, Sparky built a nine-item cart totaling $64.21, used purchase history and usual-store availability, and flagged out-of-stock trash bags.
Photo queries can prompt advice before product recommendations; Walmart’s stain-treatment example includes a warning to test spray on a hidden area.
Walmart gives no dates for expansion to Canada, Mexico or U.S. Sam’s Club members, so access there is not confirmed as live.
A handwritten shopping list can now become a Walmart cart without a shopper searching for each item. In its October 30, 2026 announcement, Walmart added six capabilities to Sparky, its AI shopping assistant, including photo-based recommendations and shelf-label guidance. The update gives the assistant more ways to turn a household request into specific products to buy.
Walmart introduced Sparky in June 2025 to help customers find products, summarize reviews and prepare for occasions. The new list feature accepts either a photograph of handwriting or a digital list exported from the Notes app. Walmart presents it as a way to assemble carts from gift lists, party supplies and children’s handwritten Christmas requests.
The matching process goes beyond reading words off a page. In Walmart’s demonstration, described by PPC Land, Sparky refers to a shopper’s previous purchases, checks availability at their usual store and recommends options for items they have not bought before. Its response flags that previously purchased Glad trash bags are out of stock. The resulting nine-item list totals $64.21.
That example shows two different jobs inside the same feature: matching familiar purchases and selecting unfamiliar ones. A list that names a category rather than a brand leaves Sparky to recommend the product. Walmart’s announcement does not explain how it ranks those options or whether any of the recommendations or placements are paid advertising.
Images also work as questions, not just lists. Shoppers can upload a photo or screenshot to ask how to remove a stain or recreate a look. Walmart’s examples include cocoa on a sweater and cranberry sauce on a tablecloth. Sparky is meant to identify what the shopper needs and recommend products, rather than require them to know the name of a cleaning treatment or clothing item.
Walmart’s stain-removal demonstration gives advice before showing a product card. Sparky suggests a color-safe pretreatment spray and gentle detergent, then warns the shopper to test the spray on a hidden area because the sweater’s yarn could bleed. The example illustrates the intended sequence: explain a treatment, then offer something to buy.
For shoppers already in a store, the new Shop to Light feature connects a Sparky search with a physical shelf label. It starts with directions on a store map and ends with a price tag lighting up. Walmart has not specified how many stores support it or a rollout date.
The remaining additions address meal planning, substitutions and language. They extend the requests shoppers can make without starting with a named product:
Walmart says Sparky is available to its U.S. customers, with assistance in the app, online and in stores. Access is also scaling to Canada, Mexico and U.S. Sam’s Club members. The company gives no dates for that expansion, so the announcement should not be read as a completed rollout to every newly named group.
Voice has a separate timetable. Although the announcement invites customers to type, talk or share an image, its footnote says voice capabilities are expected to launch chainwide by the end of 2026. That remains a planned next step, rather than a promise that every shopper can already use the new features by speaking.
Loading discussion...
Join the conversation
Explain when that transparency would change what you buy.
Be the first to share a perspective or an experience.
Reader comments
Newest comments first. Replies stay oldest first.