Apple Sets Daily Limits on Server AI Features, With Paid Access to Come

Apple has defined a metered boundary for some cloud-backed AI tools, but users still do not know the caps, the price of more access, or how billing will work.

By 2 min read
Apple Sets Daily Limits on Server AI Features, With Paid Access to Come
Apple Sets Daily Limits on Server AI Features, With Paid Access to Come

Listen to this story

The audio brief

About 1:33
0:001:33
Read transcript
Apple has now put daily limits on several server-backed Apple Intelligence features, and says getting more access will eventually cost extra. The affected tools include Siri AI, intelligent photo editing, Image Playground, and AFM 3 Cloud models used through the Shortcuts app. These limits do not apply to every Apple Intelligence capability: features running on the device can continue even after a cloud feature reaches its boundary. The important catch is that Apple has not published a daily allowance. The limit can vary by feature, the complexity of a request, current system demand, Apple’s policies, and other factors. Reaching it may make that specific tool unavailable, or reduce what it can do, until the limit resets. Apple has not said when resets happen, either. Apple also says it can throttle, suspend, or impose additional limits on excessive, automated, fraudulent, illegal, abusive, or otherwise unreasonable use. That assessment may consider volume, frequency, request complexity, demand, and usage patterns. There is a paid expansion path, but almost everything about it remains open. Apple has previously connected expanded access with higher iCloud Plus tiers, yet it has not specified which tiers qualify, what they include, when the option launches, or whether customers can buy it separately. So the immediate change is not a known price increase. It is a new operating rule: cloud AI access is conditional, and the ceiling can move. The key question is when Apple publishes the actual limits and billing terms.

Story brief

3 key points

Apple’s newly published Apple Intelligence Usage Terms establish that some cloud-backed features can stop working or lose functionality after a variable daily limit, while on-device capabilities continue. The affected set includes Siri AI, intelligent photo editing, Image Playground, and AFM 3 Cloud models in Shortcuts. Apple has not disclosed thresholds, reset timing, pricing, launch date, or whether access will be...

  1. 01

    Limits vary by feature, request complexity, system demand, policies, and other factors; no published allowance exists.

  2. 02

    Reaching a cap affects the specific feature, not necessarily the rest of the device.

  3. 03

    Apple may throttle or suspend excessive, automated, fraudulent, illegal, or otherwise unreasonable activity.

Apple has put daily usage caps on certain server-side Apple Intelligence features and says expanded access will eventually cost extra. The disclosure turns cloud capacity into a visible constraint for tools such as Siri AI and image generation, even as Apple leaves the actual thresholds and future price unstated.

The limits apply to features that rely on Apple’s server-side models, rather than all Apple Intelligence functions. Apple specifically lists Siri AI, intelligent photo editing tools, Image Playground, and AFM 3 Cloud models used through Shortcuts. The company says daily limits may differ based on the feature, the complexity of a request, system demand, system policies, and other factors.

A cap can change the product experience

Under the newly published Apple Intelligence Usage Terms, reaching a limit can make that particular feature unavailable or reduce its functionality until the limit resets. Other device features can continue to work in the meantime. That means a user may encounter a boundary in one task without losing access to the broader device experience.

The features Apple names

  • Siri AI, Apple’s AI assistant features.
  • Intelligent photo editing tools and Image Playground.
  • AFM 3 Cloud models available in the Shortcuts app.

A paid route without a price

That leaves several practical questions open. Apple has not disclosed whether extra access will be sold as a standalone purchase, bundled only with a subscription, or charged another way. MacRumors notes that Apple had previously said higher iCloud+ tiers would include expanded access to the limited Apple Intelligence features, but the current disclosure does not set out the tier requirements or what each tier would provide.

Apple’s terms also draw a line between ordinary limits and what it calls unreasonable use. It says excessive, abusive, automated, fraudulent, illegal, or otherwise unreasonable activity may be restricted, throttled, suspended, or subjected to additional limits. The company says it can assess that use through factors including volume, frequency, request complexity, demand, and patterns of use.

The immediate significance is less a known price increase than a new operating rule for Apple’s cloud AI: access is conditional, and the conditions can move. Apple has now identified the tools affected and promised a paid expansion path. It has not yet told users how often they can hit the ceiling, when the paid option will arrive, or what it will cost.

Sources

  1. apple.comApple advances health and fitness capabilities using Apple Intelligence
  2. support.apple.comApple Intelligence Usage Terms - Apple Support
  3. macrumors.comApple's Fine Print: Daily Usage Limits for Siri AI, 'Expanded Access' Coming for a Fee

Loading discussion...