Google brings more than 400 publications into its paid news AI pilot
New partners include CNN, the Financial Times and U.S. local publishers. Google pays for content used in experimental previews and audio briefings, but has not disclosed the deals’ terms.
Google’s News AI pilot has expanded to more than 400 publications worldwide, adding national outlets and U.S. local newsrooms to a content-licensing experiment inside Google News. The reporting feeds AI-generated article previews and customizable audio briefings, but Google has not disclosed payment terms—and says compensation is not tied to how much a publisher’s material appears in any individual output. For publishers, the pilot offers a paid route into Google’s AI features; whether those formats drive readers to original stories remains an open question.
01
New participants include Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes, alongside local partners such as The Post and Courier and The Texas Tribune.
02
Google launched the pilot in December 2025 with publishers including The Guardian, El País, The Times of India and The Washington Post.
03
Story previews summarize recent articles on publishers’ Google News pages; audio briefings combine selected daily headlines and link to cited articles.
Google’s paid experiment with AI-generated news now includes more than 400 publications worldwide. In its October 15, 2026 update, the company named major outlets and U.S. local newsrooms joining its News AI pilot. Their content supports article previews and audio briefings inside Google News, while the financial terms remain undisclosed.
From initial partners to local newsrooms
The pilot launched in December 2025 with publishers including The Guardian, El País, The Times of India and The Washington Post. It licenses news content for tests of AI features in Google News. Thursday’s announcement adds partners to that existing experiment rather than introducing a new service.
Axios, CNN, the Financial Times and Forbes are among the newest participants. Google also named The Post and Courier, The Texas Tribune, Oil City News and Shaw Media as new U.S. local publisher partners.
The local additions span different markets and newsroom structures. The Post and Courier is in Charleston, South Carolina; Oil City News is in Casper, Wyoming. Shaw Media is a newspaper chain based in Illinois and Iowa, while The Texas Tribune is a nonprofit newsroom.
Two ways licensed reporting reaches readers
Google describes the payments as compensation for delivering and using “enhanced content” to develop new AI features. The pilot includes two experimental formats:
Story previews are in-depth, AI-generated summaries of recent articles that may appear on a publisher’s Google News page. Google describes these overviews as a way to give readers context before they click through to the source article.
Audio briefing is a customizable, AI-generated podcast in the Google News app that stitches together daily headlines. Listeners can choose topics such as World, Gaming or Sports. Citations link to the articles mentioned in the briefing.
Nieman Lab showed a Washington Post story preview with a disclaimer identifying it as AI-generated and warning that it “may include mistakes.”
Payment terms remain private
Google declined to disclose the exact terms of the publisher deals to Nieman Lab. Duff did clarify one important boundary: this pilot does not pay publishers according to how much their material contributes to a particular AI-generated output. Instead, publishers are paid to provide content that appears in the experimental features.
Sources
blog.google400 publications are now partnering with us on our News AI pilot program.
niemanlab.orgGoogle’s News AI pilot expands to over 400 publications, including U.S. local news outlets
Reader comments
Newest comments first. Replies stay oldest first.